Reality Check

IMG_0782

Before my daughter was born, I just knew that I would prepare her these amazing meals full of flavor and creativity and of course, as organic and healthy as possible.  I reasoned that I would love her more than life itself so the time, money and effort it would take to do this would be insignificant and a mere afterthought.

I was certainly right about my love for her (in fact, loving her more than life itself is a gross understatement) but I was pretty wrong when it comes to her meal plan. I’m only human and sometimes all of the other responsibilities that come with being a mom prevent me from fulfilling my pre-birth culinary prophecies.  Since starting solids, I have never left the house without at least two of those organic food pouches you see everywhere.  Whether it’s Apple, Raisin & Quinoa or Spinach, Peas & Pear, it’s been a steady part of my daughter’s meal plan.  They are just so incredibly convenient.

While picking up a few pouches that were on sale today, I saw a homeless family of 5 outside the store.  The mother was cradling her infant daughter while the other two young children were sitting at the father’s feet.  My heart broke and I felt such a pang of guilt.  Here I was stocking up on these packets of food because they were convenient and here this family was, standing there hungry and in need.

I gave them 5 packets of food but as I drove away I felt even worse.  Why didn’t I give them more?  Surely I didn’t need the rest.  And why didn’t I get them diapers?  And what about the parents?  What will they eat?  I should have gone back and asked them what they needed.  What’s wrong with me?

My grandmother and I were talking about parenting one day and I told her how I wanted service to be a normal part of my daughter’s life.  I want her to think that helping others less fortunate is just what you do – like brushing your teeth or washing your hands.  I don’t want her to think it’s just something you do because it looks good on college applications.

Now that my daughter is more aware and really watching what I do, I guess I have to step up to the plate.  I can’t just walk around feeling guilty or being satisfied with dropping money in the church collection plate.  I have to really DO something.  Now I just have to figure out what that is…

Comments

  1. I can totally relate! What you did was amazing. Your daughter will see the kindness in your heart and actions and that itself will make an impact on her life. I believe it doesn’t matter what it is or how much…sometimes even if its nothing at all…just the thought or random act is enough 🙂 great job mommy!

  2. Love this. After reading this it most definitely makes me check myself. This has opened my mind up to what really matters in life. Sometimes we get comfortable in our easy layback lives not realizing how truly blessed we really are. It’s time to step up to the plate . Thank you for this awesome post.

Leave a Reply

